Thursday, September 12, 2013

67th Annual Barrow Show® Swine Judging Contest

The 66th Annual Barrow Show Swine Judging Contest brought 68 teams and 367 participants to Austin, Minn. on Sept. 9, 2013.

Winning the Senior College Division was Western Illinois Univeristy, Macomb, Ill.; Lakeland College of Mattoon, Ill. topped the Junior College Division; and Rushford-Peterson FFA Team #1, Rushford, Minn. won the junior division.

Senior College Division


Western Illinois University won first place in the senior college division with a score of 3291 points out of a possible 3500 points. The Western Illinois team competed against 16 other teams in the university division. Members of this team, coached by Mark Hoge, included Jamie Bobell, A.J. Stockdale, Sam Mattingly, Amara Danner, Matt Morrison, Marcassa Goodwin and Shelby Perry.

Oklahoma State Univeristy, Stillwater, Okla., was second in the senior college division with a score of 3282 points. Coached by Mark Johnson, this team was comprised of Brock Herren, Kass Pfeiffer, Maverick Squires, Dalton Newell, Laine Martin, Kyle Wilson and Taylor Graham.

Iowa State University of Ames, Iowa, coached by John DeClerk, came in third with a score of 3277. Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas, finished fourth with 3241, and Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, was fifth with 3218.

Additional team placings in the senior college division were: Sixth- South Dakota State University, Brookings, 3206; Seventh- University of Illinois, Champaign, 3201; Eighth- The Ohio State University, Columbus, 3175; Ninth- University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, 3145; and Tenth- Tarleton State University, Stephenville, 3132.

Brent Boland, Iowa State University, was the top individual of 111 competing in the university division with 674 points out of a possible 700. In second place with a score of 673, representing Texas Tech University, was Lane Halfmann. Pickup up third in the tiebreak was Everleigh Hayes, Texas A&M University, with a score of 672, while Rich Nichols of Iowa State University finished fourth with the same score. The top five was rounded out with Brock Herren of Oklahoma State University, with a score of 671.

Senior College Reasons awards were given to the top team and top five individuals. The Texas A&M University squad captured first with 945 points. The high individual in reasons was David Ammann, University of Illinois with a score of 197 out of a possible 200. Second place in senior college reasons was awarded to Lane Halfmann, Texas Tech Univeristy, with a score of 196, followed by Brock Herren, Oklahoma State University in third with a score of 194, and Jordan Richburg, Texas Tech University, with a score of 192 in fourth. There was a three way tie for fifth place, all with a score of 191. Winning the tiebreak was Lindsay Bowman, University of Arkansas, Brett Moriarty, Texas A&M University, finished sixth, and Jamie Bobell, Western Illinois University finished seventh.

Junior College Division


Lakeland College, Mattoon, Ill., took home top honors out of 11 teams in the junior college division with a score of 3263 points out of a possible 3500 points. Coached by Ryan Orrick, team members were Shelby Peterson, Blake Ford, Brenen Diesen, Jordan Fledderjohann, Dan Ammann, Kylie Eisen, and Marie Lock.

Black Hawk Community College, Galva, Ill., finished second with a score of 3239. Black Hawk was coached by Dan Hoge and Jared Boyert and their team consisted of Cory Edge, Tyler Gradert, Hank LeVan, Caitlyn Bowyer, Mathew Hahn, and Ben Lenig. Northeast Oklahoma A&M College, Miami, Okla., finished third with a score of 3179, Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill., finished fourth with a score of 3171, and Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill. placed fifth with a score of 3156.

Additional team placings in the junior college division were: Sixth Casper College, Casper, Wyo., 3140; Seventh Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill., 3136 Eighth Des Moines Area Community College, Ankeny, Iowa, 3007; Ninth John Wood Community College, Perry, Ill., 3003; and Tenth Spoon River College, Canton, Ill., 2953.

The 88 contestants in the junior college division made for some stiff competition for top individual with Shelby Peterson, Lakeland College, coming out ahead with a total of 664 out of a possible 700 points and right behind in second was teammate Blake Ford with a score of 660. Finishing third with a score of 659, representing Black Hawk East College was Cory Edge. There was a tie for fourth place, broken on reason scores, Tyler Gradert of Black Hawk East College was awarded fourth, with Giddian Kappler receiving fifth.

Lakeland College also took home the High Team Reasons award, with a combined effort of 932 out of 1000 total points. High Individual reasons was another tight race with Jennifer Livermore, Lincoln Land Community College, and Cory Edge, Black Hawk Community College, coming in first and second respectively both with a score of 189. One point behind in a three way tie for third place, were Jordan Fledderjohann, Lakeland College, third place, Cade Christensen, Casper College, fourth, and Lindsay Tasos, Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College, fifth. The ties were broken on the lower placings total on reasons classes.

Junior Division

Rushford-Peterson FFA #1, Rushford, Minn., coached by Colby Lind, captured top honors in the junior division of the 67th annual NBS® Swine Judging Contest this year. There were 41 teams in the Junior Division from seven states which included Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Indiana, Nebraska, South Dakota, and Missouri.

The Rushford-Peterson FFA #1 team members, Jordon Bergan, Jorli Hauge, Ben Markegard, and Russ Anderson, accumulated 1048 of a possible 1125 points.

Indiana Aggies, finished second with 1039 with teammates Colton Geiger, Tyler Dawson, Hayden Wilder, and Thomas Trout, coached by Tyler Johnson.

Morrison FFA, Okla., under the guidance of Brent Haken came in third with a score of 1014. Hayfield FFA, Minn., was fourth with 1011 and Washington County 4-H wrapped up fifth with 988 points.

The high individual in the junior division with a score of 358 out of 375 possible was Colton Geiger of Indiana Aggies. In second was Jordan Bergan, of Rushford-Peterson FFA, Minn., with a total of 356. With a score of 353, Brady Bobendrier, Pipestone Area FFA, Minn., secured third and Levi Anderson, Hayfield FFA, Minn., placed fourth with a score of 351. John Eilertson, Ruthland FFA, S.D., finished fifth with 350 points.

The competition is held in conjunction with the four-day National Barrow Show® in Austin, Minn. This event is co-sponsored by Hormel Foods Corporation and the National Association of Swine Records.

No comments:

Post a Comment