Friday, September 14, 2012

66th Annual Barrow Show® Swine Judging Contest

Sixty-five teams and 278 participants judged in the 66th annual National Barrow Show® Swine Judging Contest held Sept. 10th in Austin, Minn.

Western Illinois University of Macomb topped the senior college division; Connors State College, Warner, Okla., won the junior college division; and Tri-Point FFA #1, Cullom, Ill., placed first in the junior division.

For complete results  visit the National Swine Registry's website.
Senior College Division

Western Illinois University won first place in the senior college division with a score of 3270 points out of a possible 3500 points. The Western Illinois team competed against 13 other teams in the university division. Members of this team, coached by Mark Hoge, included Brandon Davis, Blaine Evans, Cody Lamle, Blake Nickel, Rabecca Stokes, Travis Terhaar and Austin Waltz.

Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, was second in the senior college division with a score of 3269 points. Coached by Mark Johnson, this team was comprised of Jamie Bloomberg, Katie Duysen, Chris Hoffschulte, Chastain Leggett, Morgan Meisenheimer, Jake Warntjes and Clay Zwilling.

Iowa State University of Ames, coached by John DeClerk, came in third with a score of 3267. Texas Tech University, Lubbock, finished fourth with 3202 and University of Illinois, Urbana was fifth with a score of 3177.

Additional team placings in the senior college division were: Sixth – Purdue
University, West Lafayette, 3158; Seventh – The Ohio State University, Columbus, 3151; Eighth – Michigan State University, East Lansing, 3142; Ninth –University of Minnesota, St. Paul, 3134; and Tenth – South Dakota State University, Brookings, 3127.

Hunter Shoemaker, Iowa State University, was the top individual of 108 competing in the university division with 674 points out of a possible 700. In second place also with 674 points, tie broken on higher total reasons score, representing Oklahoma State University was Chris Hoffschulte. Picking up third was Austin Waltz, Western Illinois University, with a score of 672. Western Illinois University contestant Rebecca Stokes along with Iowa State University contestant Colby Taber and University of Illinois contestant Dillon Garver finished fourth, fifth and sixth respectively with a score of 660 with the three way tie broken on higher total reasons score.

Senior college reasons awards were given to the top team and top five individuals. The Western Illinois University squad captured first with 945 points. The high individual in reasons was Brandon Davis, Western Illinois University with a score of 192 out of a possible 200. Davis was followed by a five way tie of 191 with Michigan State contestant Katie Cook taking second, Iowa State contestant Hunter Shoemaker taking third, Western Illinois contestant Cody Lamle taking fourth, Oklahoma State contestant Jamie Bloomberg taking fifth and Western Illinois contestant Rebecca Stokes taking sixth. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior College Division

Connors State College, Warner, Okla., took home top honors out of 12 teams in the junior college division with a score of 3249 points out of a possible 3500 points. Coached by Brandon Gunn, team members were Clay Carlson, Garrett Foote, Trey Lockhart, Tyler Mackey, Jacob McKillip, Dakota Moyers and Ian Schaefer.

Black Hawk Community College, Galva, Ill., finished second with a score of 3230. Black Hawk is coached by Dan Hoge and Jared Boyert and their team consisted of Jake Bloomberg, Will Coor, Breanna Lawyer, Max Look, Isaak Mersch, Amber Shipe and Austin Weber. 

Redlands Community College, El Reno, Okla., coached by Tanner Winter, Chase Reed and Clay Elliott was third at 3226. Lakeland Collge, Mattoon, Ill., was fourth with a score of 3162 and Northeastern Oklahoma A&M, Miami, Okla.,  was fifth with 3128. 

Additional team placings in the junior college division were: Sixth – Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill., 3119; Seventh – Casper College, Casper, Wyo., 3093; Eighth – Illinois Central College, East Peoria, Ill., 3091; Ninth – Joliet Junior College, Joliet, Ill., 3037; and Tenth – Spoon River College, Canton, Ill., 2907.

The 100 contestants in the junior college division made for some stiff competition for top individual with Austin Weber of Black Hawk East coming out ahead with a total of 657 out of a possible 700 points, and right behind in second was Dakota Moyers of Connors State College with a score of 656. Finishing third and fourth with 655 points were Jacob McKillip, Connors State College and Owen MacFarlane, Redlands Community College, in that order with the tie broken on total reasons score. In a close fifth with 654 points was Amber Shipe, Redlands Community College.

Redlands Community College also took home high team reasons with a score of 918 points. High reasons individual was another tight race with Ashley Judge, Redlands Community College and Breanna Lawyer, Black Hawk Community College coming in first and second respectively, both with a score of 189. Close behind in third was Austin Kindschi, Redlands Community College with a score of 187, followed by a three way tie of 186 with Gary Agar, Redlands Community College landing fourth, Jacob McKillip, Connors State College taking fifth and Austin Weber, Black Hawk Community College securing sixth. The ties were broken based on lower placing totals in reasons classes.

Junior Division

Tri-Point FFA #1, Cullom, Ill., coached by Diana Loschen, captured top honors in the junior division of the 66th annual NBS® Swine Judging Contest this year. There were 39 teams in the Junior Division from seven states which included Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Indiana, Nebraska and Missouri. Tri-Point FFA #1 team members Trey Fecke, Brooke Haag, Amy Loschen and Kendall Wills accumulated 1045 of a possible 1125 points.

Russellville FFA, Mo., finished second with 1033 points, with teammates Austin Bailey, Miriam Martin, Kent Shikles and Ashlee Waddell, coached by Lance Martin.

Wyandotta FFA, Okla., under the guidance of Phillip Hofschulte ,came in third with a score of 993. St. Ansgar FFA #1, Iowa, was fourth with 981 and Ridgeview FFA, Ill., wrapped up fifth with 977 points.

The high individual in the junior division with a score of 359 out of 375 possible was Trey Fecke of Tri-Point FFA#1, Cullom, Ill. In second was Miriam Martin of Russellville FFA, Mo., with a total of 353 points. With a score of 348, Aaron Willison, Lewis Cass FFA, Ind., secured third and hot on his heels was Kendall Wills, Tri-Point FFA#1, Cullom, Ill., who placed fourth with a score of 347. Austin Bailey, Russellville FFA, Mo., finished fifth with 345 points.

The competition is held in conjunction with the four-day National Barrow Show® in Austin, Minn. This event is co-sponsored by Hormel Foods Corporation and the National Association of Swine Records.

No comments:

Post a Comment